My Life

by Bernadette Casey

0
966

My name is Bernadette Casey and I live in Cabra in Dublin 7. I live there independently but I am supported by the Daughters of Charity Service. I like living there because I feel safe and it is comfortable. I live next door to our Respite house. It is great to know they are just next door. My supports in Community Residential Service are great. I can call into the office anytime and there is always someone there and I always feel welcome. If I need any job done in my apartment we have a great maintenance man.

My job is in my day service where I work two days a week. I make tapestry pictures there. I used to work in a pub called Kavanaghs where I served food, made desserts and set tables. The people there were really nice. Before I started to work in the pub I did a Hospitality Course and got a FETAC award. Now I want to do other things. I have also got a FETAC award in crafts.

My interests include Advocacy. I am in a few Advocacy groups. I helped to interview for an independent advocate. It was a good experience. I am also a member of a Pastoral Care Committee. We plan masses, reflection days and the trip to Knock.

I also like to play badminton. I play in my local club in Aughrim Street. I played badminton in the Special Olympic World Games in Ireland in 2003. It was great fun. I won two bronze medals and a fourth ribbon in the games. I was in the National Games in 2010- I have met a lot of famous people through being involved in Special Olympics.

I also like to travel. I was in China in 2007 when the Special Olympics were on there. I walked on the Great Wall of China. I have also been to Florida, Portugal, Italy and France. I would like to go to Jamaica, Kenya and maybe Australia some day.

I love to watch horror films, thrillers and ones with Norman Wisdom and Shirley Temple. My favourite musicals are Peter Pan and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. My favourite animals are dogs, donkeys, dolphins, elephants and cats.

My aim is to stay healthy, keep in touch with my friends and stay involved in my advocacy groups. Maybe one day I will work with animals but I might just want to bring them all home!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here